Residency Classification for Tuition Purposes

At the time of application for admission, students are classified for tuition purposes as "in-state residents" or "out-of-state residents," according to provisions of Colorado law. To qualify for in-state tuition, students (or their parents or legal guardians, if they are under 23 years of age and not emancipated) must have been domiciled in Colorado for at least one year prior to the first day of the semester for which they seek residency.

Domicile for tuition purposes is determined by two factors:

  1. Ability to show a permanent place of residence in Colorado, and
  2. Ability to demonstrate intent to remain in Colorado.

Students prove their intent by providing documents showing 12 months of domicile in Colorado. Examples are:

  1. Colorado income tax returns
  2. A lease or rental agreement for one year
  3. Proof of purchase of a home for one year
  4. Evidence of permanent Colorado employment status
  5. A Colorado driver’s license or vehicle registration
  6. Evidence of Colorado voter registration

The Admissions office requires a minimum of two proofs of domicile, but depending on circumstances, RRCC may request additional information. If students have been classified as non-resident and feel this is in error because of incorrect information provided on the initial application, a correction form must be submitted by the full semester drop deadline for the semester. If it is determined that the correction form and any supporting documentation is insufficient to prove residency, the student can petition for in-state tuition. This petition must be submitted to Admissions within 30 days of the start of the semester.

All Veterans who have been honorably discharged can be classified as "In-state" for tuition purposes with a copy of the Veteran’s DD-214.

Information: 303-914-6348